Youth youthinterleague

NDSL V’s CCFL Match report

The CCFL Youths interleague Squad completed their FAI Interleague programme against the NDSL on Sunday the 6th January in the Oscar Traynor Complex in Coolock with a disappointing 2-0 loss.

The long lay-off over the Christmas period seemed to effect the CCFL squad as many of the players put in their most ineffective performance of the tournament, that said the CCFL had 6-7 clear cut chances to open the scoring but failed to take the opportunities as they arose, in contrast the NDSL performed well above their previous standard and on the run of play deserved to take the lead just before the half time break.

The 2nd half seemed more even with the CCFL coming to grips with the 5 man Midfield wall put in front of them by the NDSL. Chances were restricted for both teams however the NDSL managed to score on the breakaway to increase their lead midway through the half. The CCFL seemed to come into the game more as the match wore on and were unlucky with a number of chances. Best on the day for the CCFL were Darragh Daly, Andrew Bonham, Rory Finnegan, Eoin O’Malley & Mikey Clear. Manager Eamonn Brady ensured that all his players were given the opportunity to perform at the highest level and they all done themselves proud.

Eamonn stated afterwards that whilst the results did not go their way there was universal acknowledgment that the performances put in by the squad were of the top level and that unfortunately the standard of the group conspired to make qualification to the latter stages of the competition a very tough assignment. He noted that one of the squad Bidemi Afolabi (Clongowes Wood) has signed for Bray Wanderers and that 5 of the squad will partake in the final AIT scholarship trial next Saturday.

He then noted that preparation for next Years Competition was well under way and a squad would be selected in the coming weeks by incoming Manager Tony O’Sullivan for a triangular tournament to take place before the end of the season. This squad would then compete in the UMBRO cup in Salthill later in the Year, before taking their chance in the FAI Interleague tournament next season.


Andrew Bonham (Abbeyleix Ath), Shane Hyland ( CR Forrest), Dylan Downey  (Newbridge Town), Ian McCarthy Capt. ( Killavilla Utd) Eoin Clarke (Mullingar Ath) Cathal Cleary (Mountmellick Utd), Darragh Daly (Mullingar Ath) John Byrne (Clongowes Wood) Mikey Clear (EdenderryTown) Rory Finnegan (Gallen Utd), Darragh McHugh (NewbridgeTown)

Subs Used: Richard Redden (NewbridgeTown), Dean Byrne (Abbeyleix Ath), Killian Callaly (Rosenallis), Jordan Williamson, (Rosenallis), Gary Burke (Rosenallis), Tony Flanagan (Abbeyleix Ath), Eoin O’Malley (Mullingar Ath), Max Charles (Mullingar Ath)