Club Events League Info Youth

Youths Tour to Brentford FC


The Combined Counties football league will visit BrentfordAcademy from the 18th April until the 20th April with this Years successful Interleague squad.


The squad who this season reached the quarter finals of the FAI’s Interleague competition will gain 1st hand experience of the life of a professional club, during their visit the players will be given a hands on coaching session by the Brentford Academy’s coaches and will then pit their talents against one of the Academy’s elite Youth panels, this game will be watched by key members of the Academy’s coaching staff as well as their top scouts. An opportunity like this does not come very often for players from the Midlands and the squad are very confident that they will perform to their usual high standards and successfully put themselves in the shop window to gain a professional career in England.


One of the last Players from the Midlands to make the move to professional football in England was Conor Smyth who played with Mullingar Athletic before signing with Watford; Conor is a brother of CCFL Panel member Eoghan who currently plays for Kinnegad Juniors.


The CCFL’s Youth strategy has continued to be a great success with over 60 Under 17 players from the League already having taking part in trials for the upcoming LFA Blitz which will be held in Leah Victoria park Tullamore on the 26th April, this blitz will consist of 6 u17 squads from throughout Leinster, with a panel being selected to represent Leinster in an interprovincial tournament later in the summer.   The CCFL will select a panel from this tournament to play in the Macron Cup in Galway in August.


The Players have expressed their thanks to all their Families, Clubs and Sponsors who supported them throughout the season.


The Travelling Panel are as Follows:


Cain Brereton            WillowPark (Captain)

Brandon McEvoy      BirrTown

Kevin Bryant              Mucklagh

Joe Moloney               Killavilla

Brian Moloney           Killavilla

Gio Russo                   TullamoreTown

Cillian Callaly             Rosenallis

Nicky Kelly                WillowPark

Peter Ryan                  WillowPark

Cathal Callanan         WillowPark

Oisin Fitzpatrick        Portlaoise AFC

Eoghan Smyth            Kinnegad Juniors

Stefan Shalloe            BirrTown

Conor Ryan                 BirrTown

Joe Curran                  BirrTown

Justin Lalor                 StradballyTown